Science-fiction

  • Au plus froid de l'hiver, Vassia adore par-dessus tout écouter, avec ses frères et sa soeur, les contes de Dounia, la vieille servante. Et plus particulièrement celui de Gel, ou Morozko, le démon aux yeux bleus, le roi de l'hiver. Mais, pour Vassia, ces histoires sont bien plus que cela. En effet, elle est la seule de la fratrie à voir les esprits protecteurs de la maison, à entendre l'appel insistant des sombres forces nichées au plus profond de la forêt. Ce qui n'est pas du goût de la nouvelle femme de son père, dévote acharnée, bien décidée à éradiquer de son foyer les superstitions ancestrales.

    Inspiré de contes russes, L'Ours et le Rossignol a su en garder toute la poésie et la sombre cruauté. C'est le premier roman de Katherine Arden.

  • Beware the evil in the woods. . .

    In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, an elderly servant tells stories of sorcery, folklore and the Winter King to the children of the family, tales of old magic frowned upon by the church.

    But for the young, wild Vasya these are far more than just stories. She alone can see the house spirits that guard her home, and sense the growing forces of dark magic in the woods. . .

    Atmospheric and enchanting, with an engrossing adventure at its core, The Bear and the Nightingale is perfect for readers of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, and Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials.

    ***** Now with over 100 5* reviews, readers are spellbound by this magical story:

    'This book stayed with me, I didn't want it to end' 'A beautifully written story' 'An entrancing story, which swept me up from the very first chapter' 'Full of magic' *Make sure you've read all the books in the Winternight Trilogy* 1. The Bear and the Nightingale 2. The Girl in the Tower 3. The Winter of the Witch

  • Moscow is in flames, leaving its people searching for answers, and someone to blame. Vasilisa, a girl with extraordinary gifts, must flee for her life, pursued by those who blame their misfortune on her magic. The thrilling conclusion to the Winternight Trilogy - a series perfect for fans ofÿThe Night Circus. Magical, literary and utterly captivating, this is a fairytale for adults like no other.

empty